Steering Committee

The Steering Committee of INTERMEPA is the governing instrument, according to the Articles of the Association. It directs the Secretariat, sets common goals, coordinates a constructive cooperation between member MEPAs and promotes joint initiatives and/or campaigns. Members of the Committee are the Chairmen and Directors of all member MEPAs, each one having one vote except when deciding on maritime issues. Then, the number of votes of each MEPA-member of the Steering Committee is equal to the number of its member shipowning and managing companies of ocean going vessels.

The present Steering Committee is comprised as follows:

  • Chairman: Mr. Warwick Norman, AUSMEPA Chairman
  • Vice Chairperson: Ms Sadan Kaptanoglu, TURMEPA Chairperson
  • Immediate Past Chairman: Mr. George Tsavliris, CYMEPA Chairman;
  • Members :
    AUSMEPA: Ms Julie Nash, Executive Director
    CYMEPA: Dr Michael Ieridis, Secretary General
    HELMEPA: Dr. George Gratsos, Chairman, Dimitris C. Mitsatsos, Director General
    NAMEPA: Mr. Joe Hughes, Chairman, Carleen Lyden-Kluss, Executive Director
    TURMEPA: Aksit Ozkural, General Manager
    UKRMEPA: Igor A. Karpenko, Chairman,Prof. Vladimir Torskiy, Secretary General
    URUMEPA: Jose Maria Gamio, Chairman, Yuri Gramajo, Executive Coordinator.
Secretary of INTERMEPA and Rapporteur to the Committee is HELMEPA˘s Director General, Mr. Dimitris C. Mitsatsos.

According to the Articles of Association, the duration of the terms of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman are as follows:

Chairman for the first 4 years, was the Chairman of HELMEPA. He was replaced by the Chairman of TURMEPA for the following 2 years and since then, the Chairman is elected by the Steering Committee with majority vote for a 2-year term.

Vice-Chairman for the first 4 years was the Chairman of TURMEPA and thereafter, the Committee elects the Vice Chairman with majority vote for a 2-year term.

In the meeting of June 2016 in Athens, the SC unanimously decided to amend the Articles of Association so as the departing Chairman assists the new Chairman in materializing the aims of INTERMEPA as the Immediate Past Chairman of the Association for the next two years.